Wk 6- Artist Conversation- Meme Show

Wk 6- Artist Conversation- Meme Show

Throughout my life, I have always been the type of person who avoids attention as much as possible. I went through elementary, middle, and high school without raising my hand for this very reason. There was only ever one consistent moment where i craved attention. This occasion was when you had a brand new pair of shoes and wore them to school for the first time. In 5th grade, i remember finally getting a new pair of shoes after my old ones had began showing the wear and tear that comes with being a 10 year old. The excitement was building as it came closer to my bedtime, the night before i would wear my new shoes for the first time. I wanted nothing more then to show them off and get complimented for them. Initially, looking back, it seems ridiculous, but when i thought about it, it’s really not. People  wear their favorite outfits to look nice for other people. They are seeking attention without possibly even knowing. But back to the story, the day that i would wear my new shoes had arrived. I was extra careful to not get them dirty on the way to school before anyone would get the chance to admire them. When i arrived at school, i was greeted with a pleasant surprise. A firefighter was visiting our class to talk about what he does. I was so excited as we all eagerly waited for the time to come for him to talk to us. The entire time, i forgot about my new shoes. The day came and went and on the way home from school, i stopped walking and looked down. I was so excited to show off my shoes, and no one said anything about them. I just kept staring at my feet with my fist clenched as i thought about my wasted opportunity to stunt on my classmates.

arthur fist.jpg

Leave a Reply

